Progress Update #10: Mar 11, 2019

Well, it’s Monday and with GDC a little less than a week away, it’s time for another progress update on the development of Rogue Lives.

GDC is in a week! I would like to keep stressing that. It’s both exciting and terrifying. I’m hoping to show off a prototype of the game at the Playtest/Prototype night my alma mater puts on but I’m not so sure what I’ll have at this point. I’d really like to have something so this is going to be brief.

I spent most of my time fixing issues with the tools I was creating. I got doors spawning correctly on walls. I also modified the size of rooms so that they were still wider than they were tall. I tried using square rooms but it just didn’t look right. This, along with modifying the size of the walls meant I had to change the exact placement of rooms on the board so that they didn’t overlap.

I improved the editors themselves to handle opening and closing doors properly along with locking and unlocking closed doors. They even animate in the editor even if it takes them a while. I also got connections between rooms working properly in the editor along with removing some of the hard coding that was there when dealing with board size.

So, this week was a lot of fixes and not a lot of new content created. I’m really hoping to focus on that this week. I want to make sure all my changes work in procedurally generated levels so that even if I don’t have the big bad’s lair done, I can still have people try out those ones.

I’ll be off for the next two weeks with all the GDC and other things I have but I will be back on April 1st. No fooling. See you then.

Leave a comment